So many interesting sites and places shouting “look at me,” so little time

With nearly 70 website categories (from “activism” to “weird” and “youth”) and 17 advertising categories, the Webby Awards give themselves so much room for collaborative-self-promotion that I hate to encourage the annual excuse for a big party I don’t have time to go to.

But the project did give Roger Ebert a 2010 “Person of the Year” award, and cited Vinton Cerf for “Lifetime Achievement,” which are good things.

In the “News” category (one of the 70), don’t hold your breath: The NYTimes.com was the winner, with BBC.com/news getting a People’s Voice award.

NewYorker.com won for “Best Copy/Writing” with NYTimes.com getting that category’s People’s Voice award.

Similarly, under “Best Practices,” Twitter.com (Webby) and NPR.org (People’s Voice)

I agree with all of the above as excellent sites, but, is it me, or does  much of the project appear to be figuring out which category name to put over some of these usual suspects?

Still, every year I browse around the Webby pages and find some things that had been completely off my radar and others that were on it, but that I’ve neglected to visit or use.

Completely off my radar until today:

On the screen and impressive, amusing or useful, but neglected by me:

For categories they won in, see: Webby Nominees & Winners.

There may be others you find interesting; but I didn’t go there if (a) I clicked a link, counted to 10 and didn’t see anything or (b) the name of the link suggested the destination was trying to sell me something I don’t want, or have enough of already.

A combination of the above kept me from seeing hboimagine.com or Miroslaw Balka‘s exhibition at the Tate… not just because they are massive, slow-loading Flash “art” things, but because the Webbyawards.com link text started with “HBO” for one and “The Unilever Series 2009…” for the other, and I have enough TV and soap.

mild-mannered reporter who fell deeper into computers and the Web during three trips through graduate school in the 1980s and 1990s, then began teaching journalism, media studies and Web production, most recently as a faculty member at Radford University.

Posted in Digital Culture, Internet, Journalism, Multimedia, WebDesign

Leave a Reply

Categories
Archives