Telecommuting from the Blueridge to the Rockies

I couldn’t go to the AEJMC convention in Denver this week, but I feel like I’m halfway there, following Twitter feeds and other online activities…

I’ve been updating the Newspaper Division’s blog with whatever I find online that might interest its members…

I’m still waiting to hear whether the “Newspaper Division” is still that, or has added “and Online Journalism” to its name, or named a committee to write a clarifying “statement of purpose” for one of AEJMC’s oldest and largest groups… and, come to think of it, to find out whether I’ve been re-elected its Web editor despite my perennial inability to get to the conventions.

Meanwhile, I keep thinking of an Eddie from Ohio song, with this lyric

you think you’ll find some mountains
in western colorado
fifty weeks of snowy peaks
is where you’re gonna be
but babe the rocky mountains are gradually eroding
the hills of coors are nothing more
than blue ridge wannabes…

mild-mannered reporter who fell deeper into computers and the Web during three trips through graduate school in the 1980s and 1990s, then began teaching journalism, media studies and Web production, most recently as a faculty member at Radford University.

Posted in AEJMC, Education, Future of news, Journalism, Newspapers

Leave a Reply

Categories
Archives