Back to school again

After a semester or two off, I’ve enrolled in another Coursera “MOOC” (Massively Open Online Class)…

No new Wesleyan University listings for more film history classes to pick-up where I left off with the last two, alas…

But I’ve had this nagging interest in the Python programming language for years too, so I’ve decided to give Coursera’s “Programming for Everybody (Python)” online class a try.

It’s based on Professor Charles Severance’s University of Michigan class, which already has a wealth of materials online here:

http://open.umich.edu/education/si/coursera-programming-everybody/winter2014/materials

The Coursera version is free, using that system’s online video lectures, downloadable files, and discussion forums… as well as a free text book (available in a stunning array of ebook formats, including a 244-page PDF file), some YouTube videos, slideshows on Google Drive, and a Facebook page.

Actually, I signed up months ago and forgot to note on my calendar that it started today, then jumped in and spent hours at the computer exploring all that material… so I’m writing this in part to explain to some friends why I stood them up for the Monday night bluegrass jam session. Sigh. Maybe with Python I can write myself a better reminder-system. Ha!

Wish me luck! This is about my fifth “introduction to programming” over the years, starting with a lunch-hour class in the BASIC language on Wesleyan University’s DEC-10 mainframe in 1980, then Russ Walter’s introduction to microcomputer BASIC in 1983, a Python course a few years later, and even a taste of LISP programming for cognitive science classes. And on my own I’ve picked up just enough javascript to convince myself not to use it until I know what I’m doing.

But Python was the basis for the Django Web programming framework that I’ve watched being used to build newspaper websites, shape interactive Web apps that contributed to public access to information, and build a fascinating (and profitable) career or two… not that I plan to do any of those things myself.

I wonder if “Python voyeur” could be a line on my resume?

mild-mannered reporter who fell deeper into computers and the Web during three trips through graduate school in the 1980s and 1990s, then began teaching journalism, media studies and Web production, most recently as a faculty member at Radford University.

Posted in Computers, coursera, MOOCs, programming

Leave a Reply

Categories
Archives